Opportunities

Posted: April 2, 2015 in DAT Life

Over the last two weeks I have spent a lot of time traveling covering baseball and softball games (nine games in six days in three states), which has meant ample time to reflect about a lot. During this time I read several blogs (JNash’s Blog and Janet’s Blog) about personal and professional development. I am forever indebted to the DAT for my professional clinical and scholarly development. More so, and this is what I have been contemplating the most, I am indebted for the personal change. For me, the articles published in in the first issue of the 2015 ATEJ (LINK) really made me reflect and say, “what am I doing?”

Now let me explain. When I started the DAT I was just beginning a new clinical position at a new institution. I was familiar with my new institution and the athletic trainers working there. When I started, there was an excitement about the new techniques that I was using. The ATs I worked with were all about having me show them new techniques with their patients. They even took interest in reading new research and learning the new techniques. Eventually, the honeymoon period wore off. I became just the AT that did things differently. They stuck with RICE and stim. I had challenged them, but never followed through.

So how does that apply to the ATEJ articles? I work at a DIII institution that has an ATP. An ATP I graduated from several years ago. I have never really had any quality discussions with the ATP faculty about clinical care or athletic training education. I had a short conversation with the program director a while back about the appropriate degree for athletic training, but It was more of me answering his question about whether I thought we should transition to the masters level. I answered with a “yes,” but not much more than that. So as you can see, clinically, didactically, professionally I was missing my opportunities. Better said, I wasn’t being mindful of my opportunities.

So when I read the ATEJ issue I thought, “the faculty and our VP need to read these.” Quickly following that initial thought, I thought to myself, “my guess is they won’t, that’s too bad.” I was about to not be mindful of another opportunity. This is when I really just wanted to kick myself because I became mindful of how I was sabotaging myself yet again. I was doing well at having these discussions with students and colleagues outside of my institution, but I was not cultivating home base, my co-workers. Talk about a humbling realization.

So, the action plan. I shared these articles with the faculty to generate more professional discourse. Further, I plan to approach my interaction with my staff co-workers more mindfully. Currently my co-workers are not roadblocks, but they aren’t helping build a path forward either. As Janet mentioned in her blog, we need torch bearers moving forward. Building a new direction of clinical care at my institution will have to involve all of us. I really am disappointed with how little I have been able to influence change in my co-workers practice, but now I am energized as ever to be mindful of the opportunities for stewardship.

Just wanted to openly share my reflection to encourage others who may be having trouble being mindful of these opportunities.

Comments
  1. kbrody8 says:

    Alex,
    Although I have seen it occur often, I am always amazed when clinicians are exposed to something new and effective, yet they are unwilling to add it to their practice. Our paths, which have been significantly changed by the DAT, are guided by a quest for the latest knowledge and innovative techniques. We have been inspired by what we can accomplish with our patients, but how do we now inspire others? Your goal to cultivate change within your own institution should be easy with your evidence of growth and improved patient outcomes, but it will most likely be somewhat challenging. How can we effectively inspire others who are resistant to change? I believe you are on the right track with increased communication and awareness. Follow-up will also be important so you can be available to answer questions and stimulate more interest. It sounds as though your students and colleagues may be open to the information you have to share, and hopefully this will lead to change and a new direction of patient care.

  2. Alex,

    I think it is important to remember that we entered the DAT because we were all searching for something more in Athletic Training. So we entered with at least the subconscious thought that we would need to change, at least a little. We may have been resistant along the way, but we knew from the beginning that we wanted change. Your coworkers are not at that place. They are content and believe they know enough. I believe that most of us would have had the same reaction if we had not applied to the DAT. Remember that there are steps to change precontemplation, contemplation, determination, action, maintenance, and termination. If you keep up the positive changes, keep teaching, and keep influencing, your coworkers will eventually get there too.

Leave a comment